Publisher Theme
Art is not a luxury, but a necessity.

8-Year-Old Nagavishal And Tilottama Shome Bag The Best Actor And Actress Awards Respectively For Sir And Kd (Tamil)


Jyothi Venkatesh

The biggest names from the Indian film industry came under one roof for a Film Festival 2019 Awards in Mumbai. Jitendra bagged the Award for Icon of Indian Cinema. The Award for the Best Director was shared by Aparna Sen for her film for Ghawyre Bayre Aaj (Bengali) & Rima Das for Bulbul Can Singh (Assamese).  Bhumi Pednekar walked away with Achievers Award and the Award for OTT Best Comedy Series was bagged by Little Films (S2).  OTT Best Actor Male was bagged by Pankaj Tripathi while Best Music Award went to Gully Boy and was received by Reema Kagti & Zoya Akhtar

 Aditya Dhar (URI) deservedly took home the Award for the Best Debutant Director.  Ketan Mehta presented the Award to Kasim Beig for his Special contribution to the cinematic art. While presenting the award to 8 year old Nagavishal, Manoj Bajpai spoke about the wonderful thing the festival is doing of taking the festival to remote areas and according to him this becomes a cosy and an elite affair to be recognized across regions. The Jury comprised of Farah Khan and producer, Ketan Mehta-two-time National Award winner, Shobu Yarlagadda-Producer of the biggest blockbuster Indian movie- Baahubali, Diya Mirza-Actress, Nikkhil Advani – Film Producer, Director and Screenwriter & Sameer Saxena Writer, Director and Chief Content Officer and Head of The Viral Fever Originals.

Basant Rathore, Senior Vice President, Jagran Prakashan, who had hosted a red carpet event to give away the awards and did not bother to invite even bonafide critics like me who have been covering the festival year after year, said, “Our Film Festival has gained immense popularity and each year it attempts to present a treat for cinema lovers by showcasing unique and popular movies during the show.   Our Film Festival also forms a platform for upcoming and budding artists to showcase insightful and thought-provoking films. I would like to thank the fantastic jury who has the enviable task of choosing the first amongst equals. The World’s largest travelling film festival completes a decade of incessantly carrying the ‘Cinematic Culture’ from metro cities to smaller cities of India thereby spreading and promoting the appreciation of the cinematic art at the grass root level.”

Manoj Bajpai, Tilottama Shome
Manoj Bajpai, Tilottama Shome
Manoj Bajpai, Nagavishal
Mr. Basant with Bhumi Pednekar
Ketan Mehta, Aparna Sen
Ketan Mehta, Aparna Sen
Zoya Akhtar and Reema Kagti

Award Categories

Sr. No Awards Category Winner
1 Jagran Achievers Award Bhumi Pednekar
2 OTT Best Comedy series Little things (S2)
3 OTT Best Drama series Made in heaven
4 OTT Best Actor- Female Shefali Shah
5 OTT Best Actor-Male Pankaj Tripathi
6 Best Music Gully Boy
7 Debut Director Aditya Dhar For URI
8 Best Writing Gully Boy
9 Icon of Indian Cinema Actor Jeetendra
10 Special contribution to the cinematic art Kasim Beig
11 Best Short Film (Indian) Binnu Ka Sapna
12 Best Short Film (International) Dante Vs Mohammed Ali (Dutch)
13 Best Documentary Widows of Vrindavan
14 Best Actor- Female Sir (Hindi) – Tilottama Shome
15 Best Actor- Male KD (Tamil) – Nagavishal
16 Best Director 1 Aparna Sen for Ghawyre Bayre Aaj (Bengali)
17 Best Director 2 Rima Das for Bulbul Can Singh (Assamese)
18 Best Foreign Feature Film Holy Boom (Greek)
19 Best Film- Viewer’s choice Chintu Ka Birthday
20 Best Indian Feature Film Virus (Malayalam)


For more Bollywood updates, follow Bollyy!

Tags: Bollywood, Bollywood News, Bollywood Updates, Television, Telly News, Nagavishal, Tilottama Shome, Film Festival 2019 Awards